The Energy Resiliency Task Force, herein referred to as the ERTF, was established upon the instructions of the Energy Ministers during the 12th Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Energy Ministers’ Meeting (EMM12) held in Cebu, Philippines on 13 October 2015.

Its objective is to implement the Energy Ministers’ instructions to promote energy resiliency in the APEC region anchored on the four strategic priority sub-themes identified in the Cebu Declaration, the outcome document of the EMM 12, to wit: 1) Climate-proofing energy infrastructures; 2) Providing an avenue for cutting-edge energy efficient technologies; 3) Advocating community-based clean energy use in energy poverty- stricken areas; and, 4) Improving energy-related trade and investment in APEC.

Energy resiliency, as defined in the Cebu Declaration, is the ability and quality of energy infrastructure and facilities to withstand extreme natural and man-made disasters and other climate change impacts, to recover and return to normal conditions in a timely and efficient manner and to build back better.

The cooperation can be achieved, on a voluntary and non-binding basis, including, inter alia, through the broad exchange of information on best practices, lessons learned, technology solutions, policy and regulatory frameworks, technical assistance, and research and development to promote energy resilient infrastructure and associated facilities in the midst of the continuing challenge of natural and man-made calamities.



The Task Force will facilitate the discussion and exchange of information in support of energy resiliency to the following:

  • Policies and regulations and laws;
  • Human capital development through education, training and workshops;
  • Innovations/technology development of energy resilient infrastructures; and
  • Emergency preparedness and contingency plans.


Activities for Cooperation

To implement the above listed scope, the Task Force will facilitate development of projects to undertake the following cooperative activities, and where appropriate, in collaboration with other energy Experts’ Groups and relevant fora of APEC such as the Emergency Preparedness Working Group (EPWG) and the Senior Disaster Management Officials Forum (SDMOF):

  • Vulnerability assessment of the energy infrastructure and facilities, such as in the oil and gas chain, renewable energy, power sector (power house, cooling towers, switch yards, transmission, distribution lines, sub-stations), among others, to impacts of natural calamities and disasters;
  • Impact assessment of energy-water nexus issues further challenged by climate change and natural disasters;
  • Impact assessment of energy supply and service disruption to the economy;
  • Identification and impact assessment of natural and/or man-made disasters to other sectors (e.g. access roads and bridges, information and communication facilities, fuel distribution) that may in turn affect energy services;
  • Information exchange;
  • Capacity Building / Training;
  • Organization of symposia, conferences and seminars;
  • Provisions of relevant technical assistance and services;
  • Coordination with other Experts’ Groups to keep track of global developments on renewable energy, energy efficiency, and technology innovation; and
  • Conduct of peer reviews, regional workshop and emergency preparedness exercise by the host Member Economy.

In achieving the scope, objectives and activities outlined above, the Task Force may also draw on the expertise of the Asia Pacific Energy Research Center (APERC), the Asia Pacific Sustainable Energy Center (APSEC) and other APEC collaborative partners and relevant international and regional organizations, such as the International Energy Agency (IEA), the World Energy Council, the Pacific Disaster Center, among others. The Task Force will collaborate with these bodies on a broad range of activities such as technical cooperation and training assistance, to be defined at a later date.


Composition and Frequency of Meetings

The Task Force will be comprised of relevant authorities and experts from and nominated by the APEC Members Economies. In addition, collaborative partners and observers may be invited to the meetings and activities as subject matter experts.

The Task Force will meet regularly, at least twice a year on the margins of EWG meetings, as deemed necessary and/or in special circumstances as may be directed by the Energy Ministers.


Member Economy Coordinator

The Task Force will be Co-Chaired by the United States and the Philippines, as agreed during the 12th APEC Energy Ministers’ Meeting.


Institutional Mechanism

The Task Force will provide implementation reports and updates to the EWG and the EMM, through the Lead Shepherd.


Secretariat Support

As Co-Chairs, the United States and the Philippines will establish their respective secretariat pools.


Conformity with National Law

Discussion or exchange of information will be effected through, and in conformity with, the laws and regulations of respective Member Economies.


Confidentially and National Security

A Member Economy is not obliged to participate in any discussion or exchange of information which the Member Economy may consider to be confidential or of national security concern.


Review Mechanism

This Terms of Reference (TOR) document will be open to a biannual review so as remain up to date and relevant to the evolving needs of APEC Member Economies.


*Download the final version of TOR adopted at ERTF 2 on May 16 here.